Governor: James Nderitu Gachagua

General Information

Nyeri County is located in Central and constitutes 6 constituencies (Tetu, Kieni, Mathira, Othaya, Mukurwe-ini and Nyeri town). Nyeri North and Nyeri South districts were mapped to this county for the purposes of generating county estimates


Tetu; Kieni; Mathira; Othaya; Mukurwe-ini; Nyeri Town


    Natural resources
  • forests
  • wildlife
  • minerals (stone
  • sand
  • Kaolin)
  • livestock
  • pasture
  • wate
  • medicinal plants
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Mt. Kenya National Park
  • Aberdare National Park
  • Main Economic Activities
  • tea
  • coffee
  • dairy farming
  • milk
  • processing farms
  • maize millers
  • agriculture such maize
  • potatoes
  • cabbage
  • ballast mining


    Doctor to Population Ratio
  • 1
  • Notable Hospitals
  • Outspan Hospital


  • Kimathi University College
  • Kenya Methodist University Nyeri Campus
  • Kenyatta University Nyeri Campus
  • Moi University campus in Kagochi
  • Moi University campus in Karatina town

James Nderitu Gachagua

    Legal Affairs and Human Rights
  • Energy Roads and Transport
  • Agriculture and Lands (Convener)
  • Media, Liaison and Communication (Convener)

Wamathai Samwel Gathaiga

Nyeri County

Nyeri County has MCAs from constituencies

Mutahi Kagwe

Priscilla Nyokabi kinyua

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party