Governor: Cornel Rasanga Amoth

General Information

The County of Siaya borders Busia County to the North, Kakamega County to the Northeast, Vihiga County to the East, Kisumu to the South East, with Lake Victoria to the South and West Siaya County is inhabited by nine communities namely: Yimbo, Alego, Uyoma, Gem, Ugenya, Sakwa, Usonga, Asembo and Uholo. Siaya County shares the shores of Lake Victoria together with other neighbouring counties.

\nSiaya town the capital of the county is an economic hub with massive potential for providing for the country`s needs. Siaya has had various prominent persons call their origin including the US President Barack Obama.

\nAgriculture and fishing are the main economic activities. Local agricultural production consists of Rice, Cotton, Coffee, Sugarcane, Tobacco, Kales, indigenous greens, Bananas, Sweet Potatoes and Cassava. Cattle and poultry area also kept.

\nLake Victoria supports the vibrant fishing industry. There are a number of fisheries in the County that process fish from the lake. The county enjoys relatively good weather patterns throughout the year two rainy seasons annually.

\nSiaya County constitutes 6 constituencies:

  1. Ugenya
  2. Ugunja
  3. Alego Usonga
  4. Gem
  5. Bondo
  6. Rarieda


Ugenya; Ugunja; Alego Usonga; Gem; Bondo; Rareida


    Natural resources
  • agricultural land
  • fisheries
  • indigenous forests
  • rivers
  • timber
  • Thimlich Ohinga
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Yala swamp and wetlands
  • Ndanu Falls
  • Lake Kanyaboli
  • Lake Victoria and Kogelo home to Obama Snr the father of USA president Barrack Obama
  • Main Economic Activities
  • subsistence farming
  • livestock keeping
  • fishing
  • rice farming
  • potential Minerals
  • silica
  • gold


    Health Facilities
  • 37
  • Hospitals (3)
  • Dispensaries (19)
  • Health Centers (15)
  • Doctor to Population Ratio
  • 1


    Number of Institutions
  • Primary (381)
  • Secondary (56)

Cornel Rasanga Amoth

    Legal Affairs and Human Rights
  • Finance, Commerce and Economic Affairs
  • Agriculture and Land

Wilson Ouma Onyango

Siaya County

Siaya County has MCAs from constituencies

Aggrey James Orengo

Christine Oduor Ombaka

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party