Governor: Kinuthia Mbugua

General Information

Nakuru County is located in the former Rift Valley Province of Kenya, about 90km from Nairobi, Nakuru is an agriculturally-rich county blessed with various tourist attractions such as craters and lakes.

\n\nIt`s made up of 11 constituencies namely;

  1. Naivasha Constituency
  2. \n
  3. Nakuru Town West Constituency
  4. \n
  5. Nakuru Town East Constituency
  6. \n
  7. Kuresoi South Constituency
  8. \n
  9. Kuresoi North Constituency
  10. \n
  11. Molo Constituency
  12. \n
  13. Rongai Constituency
  14. \n
  15. Subukia Constituency
  16. \n
  17. Njoro Constituency
  18. \n
  19. Gilgil Constituency
  20. \n
  21. Bahati Constituency

\nNakuru borders seven counties; Laikipia to the north east, Kericho to the west, Narok to the south west, Kajiado to the south, Baringo to the north, Nyandarua to the east and Bomet to the west.

\n\nIt covers an area of 7496.5 square kilometres.

\n\nThe name Nakuru means `a dusty place` in the Maasai language - in reference to frequent whirlwinds that engulf the area with clouds of dust.


Molo; Njoro; Naivasha; Gilgil; Kuresoi South; Kuresoi North; Subukia; Rongai; Bahati; Nakuru Town West; Nakuru Town East


    Natural resources as Forests, water (Lakes and rivers), geothermal energy resources, wildlife, minerals, pasture and land
  • \nTourist Attractions as Lake Nakuru National Park, Menengai Crater, Hell's Gate Park, Lake Naivasha, Lake Elementaita, Hyrax Hill Anthropological Site and Longonot Crater
  • \nMain Economic Activities include Subsistence and commercial agriculture, Energy generation in Menengai and Olkaria, small-scale trade, dairy farming, Flower farming, Eco-tourism, Commercial Businesses
  • \nPotential Minerals
  • trona, kyanite, ga


    Health Facilities
  • Total (278) District Hospitals (3), Sub-District Hospitals (3), Dispensaries (115), Health Centers (43), Medical Clinics (82), Maternity Homes (6), Nursing Homes (8), Others (18)\n
  • \nDoctor to Population Ratio
  • 1
  • \nInfant Mortality Rates
  • 50.3/1000 Live births\n
  • \nUnder Five Mortality Rates
  • 67.8/1000\n
  • \nPrevalent Disease
  • Skin Disease, Respiratory Infections, Dental Fluorosis, HIV/Aids\n
  • \nNotable Hospitals
  • Nakuru Provincial Hospital, Naivasha District Hospital


    Number of Institutions (2007)
  • Primary (898), Secondary (334)\n
  • \nPrimary
  • Total Enrollment (358,556)\n
  • \nTeacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • \nSecondary
  • Total Enrollment (25,475)\n
  • \nTeacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • \nTertiary
  • Polytechnics and Colleges (38)\n
  • \nAdult Literacy Classes
  • Total Enrollment (Not available)

Kinuthia Mbugua

    Finance, Commerce and Economic Affairs
  • Human Resources, Labour and Social Welfare
  • Health and Biotechnology
  • Agriculture and Land
  • Water, Mining and Natural Resources
  • Security
  • Intergovernmental Relations

Joseph Kibore Rutto

Nakuru County

Nakuru County has MCAs from constituencies

James Kiarie Mungai

Mary Njoki Mbugua

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party