Governor: Mwangi Wa Iria

General Information

Murang`a County is one of the five counties in Central region of the Republic of Kenya. It is bordered to the North by Nyeri, to the South by Kiambu, to the West by Nyandarua and to the East by Kirinyaga, Embu and Machakos counties. It lies between latitudes 0o 34` South and 107` South and Longitudes 36o East and 37o 27` East. The county occupies a total area of 2,558.8Km2.


Kangema; Mathioya; Kiharu; Kigumo; Maragwa; Kandara; Gitanga


    Natural resources
  • stone quarry
  • Aberdare forest
  • Main Economic Activities
  • agriculture
  • informal sector
  • tourism
  • manufacturing
  • Potential Minerals
  • Kaolin


  • 3 District Hospitals
  • 2 Sub District Hospitals
  • Number of Doctors
  • Doctors to Population Ratio
  • 1


    Primary Schools
  • 500 - Total enrollment 196,650
  • Secondaries 106 - Total enrollment  47,691
  • Tertiary Institutions 12
  • Murang'a Institute of Technology Murang'a Teachers College

Mwangi Wa Iria

    Energy, Roads and Transport
  • Agriculture and Land
  • Trade and Investment

Augustine Gakure Monyo

Murang'a County

Murang'a County has MCAs from constituencies

James Kembi Gitura

Sabina Wanjiru Chege

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party