Governor: Salim Mgalla Mvurya

General Information

Kwale County is located in south coast of Kenya, it borders the Republic of Tanzania to the South West, and the following Counties; Taita Taveta to the West, Kilifi to the North, Mombasa to the North East and the Indian Ocean to the East.

\nKwale County covers a total surface area of 8,270.2 square km and accounts for 1.42 per cent of Kenya`s total surface area.

\n\nHeadquarters and Major Towns

\n\nThe County`s capital is Kwale Town which is located 30 km southwest of Mombasa and 15km inland. It borders the Shimba Hills National Reserve. Other major towns include:

  • Ukunda,
  • \n
  • Msambweni,
  • \n
  • Kinango, and
  • \n
  • Lunga Lunga.
  • \n
  • Geography and Climate

\n\nKwale County has four major topographical features namely the coastal plain, the foot plateau, the coastal uplands and the Nyika plateau. Kwale County has a monsoon type of climate; it`s hot and dry from January â€` April while June to August is the coolest period of the year. Rainfall comes in two seasons i.e. short rains are experienced from October to December while the long rains run from March- June/July. The average temperature of the county is 24.2oC and rainfall amounts range between 400mm and 1,680 mm per annum. Seasonal rivers and the Ramisi River form the drainage pattern in the district. The main rivers and streams are Marere, Mwaluganje and river Ramisi. Rivers Marere and Mwaluganje have been harnessed to provide piped water.

\n\nThe People of Kwale County

\n\nBased on the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the county had a population of 649,931 which accounted for 1.7 per cent of the total Kenyan population.

\nKwale County is populated mainly by the Digo and Duruma. These people belong to the Mijikenda ethnic group of coastal Kenya. Other tribes found in the district include the Kambas, Arabs and Indians though to a very small proportion compared to the Digos and Durumas.

\n\nElectoral Units

\n\nThe County is divided into 4 constituencies and 20 wards. The constituencies are:

  • Matuga
  • \n
  • Msambweni
  • \n
  • Kinango
  • \n
  • Lunga Lunga
  • \n
  • Potential
  • \n

\nThe county has rich titanium deposits with extraction activities already on going.
\nThe Monsoon type of climate in the region that is characterized by hot and dry weather between January and April and cool weather between June and August is favourable for livestock rearing which is a main activity in certain parts of the county.

\nBeing criss-crossed by rivers and streams some of which are seasonal, the county has water resources giving the county huge agricultural potential.

\nPotential to be a key destination for eco-tourism (rainforests and national parks)


Msambweni; Lunga lunga; Matuga; Kinango


  • livestock farming
  • Agriculture
  • fisheries
  • Formal employment /tourism
  • Agriculture
  • oranges
  • pawpaw
  • mangoes
  • coconuts
  • Tourism
  • Mpunguti Marine National Parks- the second most famous marine park in the world (after Australian Marine Park)
  • The world famous Diani Beach
  • Major Attractions sites
  • Kisite Marine National Park
  • Mpunguti Marine National Park
  • Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary
  • Shimba Hills National Reserve
  • Diani Beach
  • Wasini Dhow Tours
  • Sheldrick Falls
  • Maji Moto Springs


    Number of health facilities
  • District Hospitals (2)
  • Dispensaries (64)
  • Health Centres (6)
  • Medical Clinics (17)
  • Doctor to Population Ratio
  • 1
  • Infant Mortality Rates
  • 70/1000
  • Prevalent Diseases
  • Malaria
  • Skin Disease
  • Diseases of the Tract System


    Number of Institutions (2007)
  • Primary (349)
  • Secondary (41)
  • Primary Teacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • Secondary Teacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1

Salim Mgalla Mvurya

    Energy, Roads and Transport
  • Finance, Commerce and Economic Affairs
  • Arid and Semi Arid Lands
  • Resource Mobilization (Convener)

Fatuma Mohamed Achani

Kwale County

Kwale County has MCAs from constituencies

Boy Juma Boy

Zainab Kalekye Chidzuga

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party