Governor: Joshua W Irungu

General Information

Laikipia County is one of the 14 counties within the Rift Valley region and one of the 47 counties in the Republic of Kenya. Laikipia County comprises three administrative sub-counties (the Constituencies) namely: Laikipia East, Laikipia North and Laikipia West. The Laikipia East Sub- County lie to the east, Laikipia North to the North and Laikipia West to the west of the County. The sub-County headquarters are at Nanyuki, Dol Dol and Rumuruti respectively.

\nLaikipia County comprises four former Local Authorities namely: County council of Laikipia; Municipal council of Nanyuki; Municipal council of Nyahururu; and Town council of Rumuruti.

\nLaikipia County has not established structures that will define what a village is. However, the County is further sub divided into 15 divisions, 51 locations and 96 sub-locations.

\nLaikipia County borders Samburu County to the North, Isiolo County to the North East, Meru County to the East, Nyeri County to the South East, Nyandarua County and Nakuru County to the South West and Baringo County to the West. It lies between latitudes 0o 18` and 0o 51` North and between longitude 36o


Laikipia West Constituency; Laikipia East Constituency; Laikipia North Constituency


    Natural resources
  • Indigenous Forests
  • Wildlife
  • Rivers
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Ole Pejeta Conservancy
  • Laikipia Plateau Reserve
  • Thompson Falls
  • Caves
  • Main Economic Activities
  • Horticulture
  • Mixed Farming
  • Livestock Farming
  • Sand harvesting along river beds


    Health Facilities
  • District Hospitals (2)
  • Sub-District Hospitals (None)
  • Dispensaries\n56)
  • Health Centres (8)
  • Medical Clinics (9)
  • Nursing Homes (2)
  • Other (3)
  • Doctor to Population Ratio
  • 1
  • Infant Mortality Rates
  • 50/1000
  • Under Five Mortality Rates
  • 60/1000
  • Prevalent Diseases
  • Malaria
  • Diarrheal diseases
  • Bronchopneumonia
  • Notable Hospitals
  • Rumuruti District Hospital
  • Nanyuki District Hospital


    Number of institutions (2007)
  • Primary (347)
  • Secondary (91)
  • Primary
  • Enrolment (85,424)
  • Teacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • Secondary
  • Enrolment (22,091)
  • Teacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • Tertiary
  • More than 14 Institutions
  • Adult Literacy Classes
  • Not available

Joshua W Irungu

    Agriculture and Land
  • Water, Mining and Natural Resources (Convener)
  • Resource Mobilization

Josphat Gitonga Kabugi

Laikipia County

Laikipia County has MCAs from constituencies

Godfrey Gitahi Kariuki

Jane Agnes Wanjira Machira

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party