Governor: Evans Odhiambo Kidero

General Information

The Nairobi City County is the creation of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and successor of the defunct City Council of Nairobi. It operates under the auspices of the Cities and Urban Areas Act, The Devolved Governments Act and a host of other Acts.\nThe Nairobi City County is charged with the responsibility of providing a variety of services to residents within its area of jurisdiction. These include the services that were hitherto provided by the defunct City Council and the ones that have been transferred from the national government.

\nThe former include Physical Planning, Public Health, Social Services and Housing, Primary Education Infrastructure, Inspectorate Services, Public Works, Environment Management while the latter include Agriculture, Livestock Development and Fisheries, Trade, Industrialization, Corporate Development, Tourism and Wildlife, Public Service Management.

\nThe Nairobi City County, in execution of responsibilities and functions bestowed upon it by the above Acts has been divided into three arms as follows:
  • The Executive led by The Governor
  • \n
  • The Legislative Arm or the County Assembly headed by The Speaker
  • \n
  • County Public Service Board


Westlands; Parklands; Dagoretti; Karen/Langata; Kibira; Roysambu; Kasarani; Ruaraka; Kariobangi; Kayole; Embakasi; Mihango\nNairobi West; Makadara; Kamukunji; Starehe; Mathare


  • Wildlife
  • Pasture
  • water
  • pasture
  • \nforests
  • infrastructure
  • \nTourist Attractions
  • Nairobi National Park
  • Nairobi National Museum
  • Uhuru Gardens
  • Uhuru Park
  • City Park
  • Nairobi Arboretum
  • Kenya National Archives
  • Karen Blixen
  • Museum
  • Ostrich Farm
  • Daphne Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage
  • Giraffe centre
  • Economic Activities
  • Industrial Production of various Goods
  • Medium and large-scale\nTrading
  • Commercial Enterprises
  • Pofessional Business Services


    Health Facilities
  • District Hospitals (3)
  • Referral Hospitals (2)
  • Dispensaries (156)
  • Health Centres (71)
  • Medical Clinics (144)
  • Maternity Homes (14)
  • Health Projects (4)
  • Nursing Homes (21)
  • VCT's (39)
  • Others (42)
  • Doctor to Population Ratio
  • 1


    Number of Institutions (2007)
  • Primary (1,241)
  • Secondary (335)
  • Primary
  • Enrolment (335,056)
  • Teacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • Secondary
  • Enrolment (49,728)
  • Teacher to Pupil Ratio
  • 1
  • Tertiary
  • Universities
  • University Satellite Campuses
  • Youth Polytechnics
  • Medical Colleges
  • Teacher Training Colleges
  • Technical Colleges
  • Aviation Colleges
  • Hospitality Colleges
  • Commercial Colleges
  • Adult Literacy Classes
  • Enrolment
  • Over 4,700 (Nairobi Province)

Evans Odhiambo Kidero

    Rules and Business (Convener)
  • Youth, Sports, Gender and Culture (Convener)
  • Intergovernmental Relations

Jonathan Mwangangi Mueke

Nairobi County

Nairobi County has MCAs from constituencies

Mike Gideon Mbuvi Sonko

Rachael Wamboi Shebesh

Please select a constituency
Name Constituency Party